it’s a sign

I was a lifelong collector of interesting tins and signs, I’d bought myself a unique tin every year for my birthday since I was 17, so the collection was huge by the time I lost it all in the fire.

What I didn’t lose though were the few signs I had, because they were housed in another property in the village near the farm, they never made it up to the farm. They’d already travelled with us from UK, sat in various rented garages in Portugal for years, then went to Italy, then came back here to the UK…..

this particular sign was half a sign, Rick and I bought it about 20+ years ago for not very much money, this half of the sign is huge (6ft)

when I saw it, I new I had to buy it, because I knew that within my lifetime I would find the other half or at least find out what it originally spelt, I never actually imagined this next bit

Whilst my brother was visiting me here in my new house he mentioned that he’d bought a sign, he showed me a photo and I will never forget the feeling I had, after he showed me, there was a long and drawn out moment where I asked him to help me open my garage door and heave out my sign and then painstakingly unwrap it from it’s travels back from Italy, when I finally unwrapped it and showed him and then told him my story we both just stood completely still and in awe. It was a miracle and so bizarre. I’d kind of forgotten that I imagined I would find the other half, little did I know it was across the water and in my brothers garden, and yes his name is Daniel !!!

5 thoughts on “it’s a sign

  1. That’s an amazing story Sarah! I remember some of your previous collection, glad this particular story has a happy ending xxx

Leave a comment