springtime

apparently we’ve had the coldest March for 31 years and I suspect we will have had the wettest April for ages too, by the time it’s over.

riverWe’ve had a lot of rain this year, quite a lot of flooding and landslides but despite the dreadful weather, the wild flowers are amazing and my garden has never looked so good at this time of year.

arti

I sowed some peas at the same time as the broad beans, about October time and although I have never done this before, they seemed to have survived the winter and are now producing actual peas, the broad beans have masses of flower too but are looking a bit beaten down by the endless rain and then winds, but they are still alive and podding up nicely, maybe by the end of the week we’ll have some with our favourite dish….

peasbroad beans

the purple sprouting broccoli has been the plant that just keeps giving, so much that I am giving it away, it took ages to do anything, had to be staked, has got so tall but now they’ve got going, there’s no stopping it

broc

the other thing I’d never done before was to grow some winter lettuce, this too has been prolific, I kept it fleeced over for the very cold months, it’s done really well and has supplied us all winter

salad as has the coriander

coriander

which I have been amazed at as have my friends, who have all benefitted.

The asparagus, as I could have predicted has not done so well, I think I disturbed it a bit last year, so I’ve only got myself to blame, but I’m grateful for the small amounts we have had, I shall be moving the bed this year and starting some new ones, they are 7 years old after all.

Potato obsessed husband has planted almost an entire field of the things

potatoes

Aside from all the foody bits, the flowers are very blue and some are yellow and orange, they’ve been out all winter….weird

iris

hyacinthborageflowers

Now, we would like it to stop raining, please, just for a bit and only at night, thank you

This entry was posted in Food, free food, Garden, The simple life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to springtime

  1. Jules and Mick says:

    Everything is looking fabulous! Despite the cold & rain ☹️ The peas & broad beans, very interested in the winter lettuce! Is the potato field what was the pig field? And the vivid blue flowers, amazing!

    • yes, the potato field is the old pig meadow, which is still called the pig meadow and is occasional called the nut meadow (long term project) and mostly inhabited by wild boar, so still the pig meadow!!! the salad is called Winter Density and has sadly become a bit bitter but the younger leaves are good, thanks for looking xxxx

  2. molly whitehead says:

    Well done again, it is looking so prolific for so early in the year. Even borage in flower so soon.You should be able to crop asparagus for up to 12 years, unless it is not doing so well.
    Love Molly

  3. Thanks Molly, when you come out you can see my asparagus bed and help me decide what to do with it???

Leave a Reply

